“…a lot I care, me with my red heart in the dark earth and my tattooed feet following the animal ways.”

Vali Myers was an artist, dancer, and shaman, among other things. She spoke to animals and painted magnificent, psychedelic self portraits. She lived on the wild coast of Italy in an abandoned shack with her lover. She tattooed a lightening bolt on Patti Smith’s knee. I could go on and on about all the wonderful and fascinating aspects of her life, but what it comes down to is that she lived her life to the fullest, which is something we can all do. While I love looking at her paintings and reading about her life and musings, what I’m mostly inspired by is her spirit. May we all be a little more like Vali!

If I make the lashes dark
And the eyes more bright
And the lips more scarlet
Or ask if all be right
From, mirror after mirror,
No vanity’s displayed:
I’m looking for the face I had
Before the world was made.

—from Before the World Was Made by W.B. Yeats

“The Passions” by Vali Myers

One response to ““…a lot I care, me with my red heart in the dark earth and my tattooed feet following the animal ways.”

  1. what an amazing woman- I’d never heard of her!

Leave a comment